Board of Directors

The NBOA Board, comprising of business officers, heads of school and representatives from the business partner community, addresses the strategic and fiduciary needs of the association. The Board has four standing committees – Executive, Finance and Audit, Governance and Nominating – in addition to specific task forces that are established on a case-by-case basis to address specific purposes.

The full Board meets three times a year (fall, winter and spring). Committees are convened throughout the year via video conferencing and in person. Individuals serve an initial term of three years and may be renewed to serve an additional term. Board members must rotate off after serving six consecutive years unless they are elected as Chair-Elect during their service.

The NBOA Board maintains a strong commitment to diversity of thought, geography and perspectives among independent school leaders.


Duncan Booth
Board Chair

Duncan Booth

Chief Operating Officer

The St. Paul's Schools

Brooklandville, MD

Immediate Past Chair

Rose Neubert

Chief Financial & Operating Officer

Stuart Country Day School of the Sacred Heart

Princeton, NJ


Beth Pollard

Chief Financial Officer

Ensworth School

Nashville, TN

Joe Carter

Joe Carter

Vice President for Business Development and UE Experience

United Educators Insurance

Bethesda, MD

Jeff Shields
Ex-Officio Officer

Jeffrey Shields, FASAE, CAE

President and CEO


Washington, DC

Board Members

Tom Arnold

Tom Arnold

Chief Financial and Operating Officer

Western Reserve Academy

Hudson, OH


Laurel Baker Tew

Assistant Head of School for Enrollment

Viewpoint School

Calabasas, CA


Rick Branson

Executive Director

Connecticut Association of Independent Schools (CAIS)

Mystic, CT


Linda Dennison

Chief Financial Officer

Glenelg Country School

Ellicott City, MD


Michael Ebeling

Head of School

Summit School

Winston-Salem, NC


Jill Fields

Senior Vice President

Bank of America

Washington, DC

Kelly Garnes-Pages

Kelly Garnes-Pages

Chief Financial Officer

Gill St. Bernard's School

Gladstone, NJ


Ed Griffin

Chief Financial Officer

Pomfret School

Pomfret, CT

Chris Harper

Chris Harper

Chief Financial Officer/Chief Operating Officer

Landon School

Bethesda, MD

Anne-Marie Kee

Anne-Marie Kee

Head of School

Lakefield College School

Lakefield, ON


Mark Mitchell

Vice President

National Association of Independent Schools

Washington, DC

Meeta Nosrati

Meeta Nosrati

Chief Financial Officer

Old Trail School

Bath, OH


Dev Talvadkar



Bethesda, MD


Ann Marie Tidona

Director of Finance, Operations, and Strategic Projects

Friends Academy

Locust Valley, NY


Lisa Turchan

Chief Financial Officer

The Buckley School

Sherman Oaks, CA

Whitney Walters-Sachs

Whitney Walters-Sachs

Vice President of School & Legal Affairs

Pine Crest School

Fort Lauderdale, FL